Where Are Haribo Gummy Bears Made 2022

The Haribo Gummy Bear is a world-renowned candy that has been enjoyed by people of all ages for over 100 years. But have you ever wondered where these delicious treats are made?

Let’s find out, where are HARIBO gummy bears made?

where are Haribo gummy bears made

Where are Haribo Gummy Bears manufactured in 2022:

Haribo gummy bears are mostly made in Bonn, Germany. Beside Germany there are 15 manufacturing facilities in the following ten regions;

  • Austria 
  • Belgium 
  • Spain 
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Brazil
  • Turkey
  • Hungry
  • Great Britain

Also Read: Where is Cheez-It Made

Where is the original Haribo factory?

The original HARIBO factory is located in Kessenich, Friesdorfer Str. 125|53175 Bonn, Germany.

The name HARIBO has come from Hans Riegel Bonn. In 1960, HARIBO manufactured the first little gummy bears and called them Gummibachen.

At present, the headquarters of this company is placed in Grafschaft, Germany.

Even Germany is called the land of attractive beer, castles, Christmas markets, festivals, and much more.

Are Haribo gummy bears made in Germany?

Yes, gummy bears are made in Germany. Besides Germany, a substantial portion is made in the USA.

Germany is a country with lots of history. The first factory was established in Bonn, Germany in 1920. Hans Reigel Bonn first started his journey with his wife and established their company.

Initially, Hans Reigel had to struggle to stand his confectionary company. But it didn’t take much time to bloom because of the invention of the bear-shaped candy which became familiar as Gummibar.

Are Haribo gummy bears made in Germany halal?

No, German-made HARIBO gummy bears are not halal. Whether the product is halal or not, depends on the Gelatin used for making gummy bears. Germany used pork-derived gelatin for the gummy bears.

There are two types of HARIBO gummy bears produced according to the country. The gummy bears which are bought in the USA and manufactured in Turkey are halal. They used beef-derived gelatin here.

The USA nor Turkey uses the logo “Halal Certified.”  In Turkey, all are Muslim and beef is halal for them. That’s why Turkey-made gummy bears are considered halal.

Ingredients For Halal Gummy Bears: Mainly beef is used for it. Besides, other ingredients are;

  • Sugars
  • Citric Acid
  • Fruit juice (Apple, Raspberry, Strawberry, Orange, Lemon, and Pineapple)
  • Gelatin
  • Water
  • Plant and Fruit concentration (apple concentration, carrot concentration, spirulina concentration, radish concentration, paprika concentration, tomato concentration, hibiscus concentration, and blackcurrant concentration)
  • Artificial flavors
  • Traces of wheat, milk
  • Carnauba wax
  • Beeswax

Whereas, those manufactured by Germany, Austria, Brazil, Spain, France, and the UK are not halal.

who invented gummy bears

Who invented gummy bears?

Hans Riegel Bonn invented gummy bears in 1920.

He was frustrated with his loss of jobs. Riegel was somehow an expert in confection works. Then took a decision to open his own confectionary company.

Initially, Reigel produced colorless and hard candies using a marble slab and copper kettle in his kitchen. His wife was the only delivery person then. HARIBO, the name came from the first letter of Hans (H), then the first two letters of Riegel (RI), and finally the first two letters of Bonn (BO).

What is the most popular gummy bear flavor?

The most popular gummy bear flavor is cherry and orange. Fruit like strawberries, lemons, green apples, gasp, and blackberries are also popular around the globe.

Those flavors create waxy circumstances inside the mouth after tasting. Besides gummy bears, HARIBO also makes other 24 types of gummy candies. Such as;

  • Fruit Salad
  • Starmix
  • Funtastic Mix
  • Ginger-Lemon
  • Happy-Cola
  • Happy Cherries
  • Fizzy Cola
  • Sour Gold-bears
  • Peaches
  • Rainbow Worms etc.

Wrap Up:

Recently, the company celebrated its 100-year anniversary. Fun fact; most citizens of the US have heard the name of HARIBO because of simple and plain Gold bears. Although there is a difference between the halal and the haram gummy bears in cases of taste.

The company has no further plan to produce anything else besides gummy candies. But HARIBO has some issues with the environmental policies as they are using plastic bags for packaging.

Sources: